Testimonials

In May 2016, we hosted our first guests. Since then, we have spoilt many guests from all corners of the globe with our food, luxury suites and the delicious food that Chef serves.

If you would like to be one our future guests and experience the service, food and luxury of Villa Five.

Get in touch with us at reservations@villafive.com

 
  • What an amazing weeks holiday!!

    WHAT AN AMAZING WEEKS HOLIDAY.

    To Danielle and Matt and all the amazing staff at Villa Five.

    The service was excellent and nothing was ever too much trouble.

    The chef was brilliant and the food was excellent every day.

    The views were perfect every day and the area is unbelievable.

    We will pass on Villa Five’s name and be back soon.

    Many thanks

    Dan, Tash, Steve, Meg, Alice, Olivia, Jo and Andy

     

     

    Guests in September, Dubai — 3rd September 2017
  • Luxurious hidden gem

    We recently visited Villa Five on the beautiful southern coast of Sri Lanka. The setting and location are second to none. The villa itself is the epitome of taste with beautiful attention to detail (bed linens, layout etc) with a feel of luxury throughout. However what further elevates this property is the great team of staff who are fabulous with every need catered for with a smile.

    The food and menu offered are delicious and we were also lucky enough to have a cooking class with the chef which was fun and informative.

    Highly recommend!

    Trip Advisor, Dubai — July 2017
  • Perfect beach villa to serve all your needs in style

    The location is perfect. The villa is as beautiful as it gets. With direct access to a beautiful beach.
    The staff is very friendly and well trained to help you with anything you need.
    The food was very good as well.

    Trip Advisor, Rome, Italy — May 2017
  • Absolutely amazing!

    What a place!

    Everything has been thought of here, staff are amazing, food quality and choice extensive and beautiful interiors.
    The villa was beyond expectations, with HUGE rooms and bathrooms, masses of outdoor space, DIRECT access onto the beach and close to restaurants, bars etc.
    Cannot recommend this place enough!

    Trip Advisor, Dubai — April 2017
  • Private Beach Front Luxury

    Villa Five is situated on a gorgeous and semi-secluded stretch of tropical paradise. Each suite is spacious and well designed with plush linens, airy bathrooms and wide views of palms and ocean. Individually, they are wonderful, but the house is best enjoyed by a group. As a group of six adults, there was the perfect combination of plenty of privacy…

    Trip Advisor, NYC — Mar
  • Our group of 6 adults and 6 small children (age 2-5y) booked the whole villa for a week-long getaway in late January. Communication prior to booking, during our stay and afterwards was stellar. Our questions were answered in a timely manner, we were given useful tips and the staff was able to help us with coordinating transportation bookings. Our late night flight was delayed and arrived in the middle of the night. But the villa staff was awake and had the everything prepared for us: cool hand towels, welcome drinks and more importantly, the bedrooms prepped and air-conditioned so we could get the unhappy kids to bed as soon as possible. It was 2 or 3 a.m. when we arrived at the villa and it was a welcome sight!

    The villa itself is stunning. High ceilings, quality furnishings and a lot of attention to detail. Drying racks for wet beach wear, various toiletries, beach towels, conveniently located USB ports and power outlets, etc. Each bedroom had in-suite bathrooms, fans, powerful air conditioners and mosquito nets. This is a luxury villa with the perks of a personal chef and manager to arrange travel and tours. The staff was pleasant and accommodating.

    We enjoyed having breakfast each morning and taking dips in the pool. The staff is around to tidy up and refresh the rooms each day. Most evenings, they close the doors in the bedrooms and lanai to minimize mosquitos. Having a chef in-house was convenient for meals and snacks; With so many small children on different schedules, this was a big factor in making our time at the villa truly enjoyable and leisurely. One suggestion would be to update the board announcing the daily dessert – the entire time of our stay, the placard did not change, and to replenish the washroom toiletries every few days.

    The location of the villa was the icing on the cake. A protected lagoon is a few minutes stroll on the beach. During low tide, the children enjoyed exploring the rocks and small pools of water and when the tide rose, adults could take turns snorkeling and swimming. Nearby and further down are beach front entrances to other hotels and restaurants. The villa is close enough to visit restaurants via a short tuk-tuk ride but also remote enough to ensure tranquility and privacy.
    We had a wonderful stay at Villa Five and would highly recommend it to anyone searching for a place to stay on the southern coast. Thank you for accommodating our group and making our visit to Sri Lanka a memorable experience!

    Trip Advisor, Expats living in China and Hong Kong — February 2017
  • Paradise

    One of our greatest experiences in Sri Lanka was staying at Villa Five. The villa design and rooms were incredible including the swimming pool and copious amounts of space for us to relax. furthermore we appreciated very much the expereince of the culinary delights of the chef, which was one of the most memorable moments, curry dreams came true!! be sure to ask for the curry and the amazing chocolate brownies!! The rooms were super clean, big, comfortable, with AC and breathtaking view!!!

    we were so sad to leave after this 5 holy days!

    Trip Advisor, Germany — February 2017
  • Felt completely at Home…

    To Villa Five Staff,

    We have loved staying at Villa Five.  The Staff have been absolutely fantastic.  From the first minute we  have felt completey at home and I’m sure we will return.

    We will remember the fun we had around the pool, the walks along the beach and all the laughs around the dinner table for many years to come.

    Amy and James Want , Dubai, UAE — March 2017
  • Birthday Celebration Surprise

    Dear Danielle,

    We all want to thank both you, and your husband and also all of the wonderful staff at your beautiful Villa so very much for the fabulous time we had in March at Villa Five.

    We have not stopped raving to all of our friends, here in Brisbane, about both Villa Five and also Sri Lanka in general, as being the best place for a holiday. It has been interesting how many people we know who are travelling to Sri Lanka this year or thinking of going in the future. So we hope that you will receive further bookings!

    You have created a very stylish Villa, and it reminded us of the ‘Tadelakt’ bathrooms and interiors in Marrakech. Everything you have added is not only attractive but very functional e.g. The beautiful and romantic mosquito nets, crisp white bed linen and towels, the black wooden wardrobes and shutters.

    It was such a relaxing time for us as a family, we felt very privileged to be with our sons and their partners, in such a wonderful place.

    What we liked was both being able to relax, swim, lie in the sun, read, but also to explore, learn about the history (e.g. Galle ), go on safari, and dine in beautiful restaurants, shop, stroll and of course go to drinks, either on the beach or in historical buildings. It was this blend that makes Sri Lanka unique and also attractive for a holiday.

    Lastly, you have done so well with your staff, they were so polite, including the Nightwatchman, unobtrusive, and did their jobs perfectly. Faultless.

    Once again many thanks, Kind Regards,

    Kind Regards,

    Greer and Mike Casey.

    Greer and Mike Casey, Australia — 26th March 2017
  • Dear Danielle and Matt

    We are very grateful for being here in this wonderful and peaceful villa, with all the kind staff.

    After a journey through the north of Sri Lanka and the elephant parks, we had to rest and relax in this beautiful villa.

    Thank you for all and to the friendly and helpful staff!

    Cheers from Germany and Austria

    Doro and family, Germany and Austria — 1st January 2017
  • Thank you!

    Villa Five,

    Thank you for opening your home to guests to enjoy!  Our group of five thoroughly enjoyed our stay from the moment we got here.  Excellent staff, food, beautiful house and pool – truly a paradise!

    We hate to leave but look forward to a return trip!

    Kristen and Blaire, Washington DC — 3rd February 2017
  • Thank you Villa five

    Our group of 6 adults and 6 kids had an amazing stay! The beach, the villa, the excellent service – we wish our trip would never end!

    Aloha

    Japan, Honolulu and Taiwan — 1st February 2017
  • Home away from Home

    Thank you, Villa Five for your warm hospitality and excellent service!  We felt at home throughout our stay which was been memorable…

    Until next time

    Kanish and family

    India — 10 February 2017
  • Life is really good at Villa Five

    Life is really good in Villa Five.

    We’ve had 15 magical days of relaxation, sunbathing, swimming, amazing fun  and wonderful experiences, heavenly seafood, hours of play and laughs.

    With Villa five and its crew as our haven, we’ve had the best base possibly on our wonderful Sri Lankan journey; spending days in the lagoon, swimming alongside the ocean’s own creatures; seeing and experiencing holidays at major temples as well as Sri Lankan everyday life; cruising around the national park being given amazingly memorable glimpses of wildlife (even really close up!)  evenings of fun conversation and contemplating – for instance with the stack of cards for couple conversations, great!

    Loved visiting Galle as well a lovely town.

    In Short – THANK YOU to all – Matt, Danielle, the lovely crew for a fabulous time!

    All the Best from Norway!

    May and friends from Norway , Norway — 27th February 2017
  • Quick weekend getaway – Not long enough!

    Villa Five – We had a fantastic time!

    Thanks you Suranga, Chaturanga, Dinesh and Chef for feeding us so well.  The food was fantastic.

    The place is beautiful and we didn’t want to checkout so early at 10am!

    We’ll be back again.

    Thanks for the wonderful weekend.

    Aneesha and Kanishka and party

    India — 12 Febraury 2017
  • Absolute bliss in an exquisite beachfront villa

    Villa Five was so much more than we imagined…. from the sound of the surf to the superbly spacious luxury bedrooms and multiple living areas, to the wonderful attentive caring staff … our 5 days were fantastic. Having the option to walk 1 minute to a safe lagoon to swim was a real plus. The outdoor dining and living areas made having a group perfect and the chef on site was a dream. Perfect for a few families or for a romantic getaway. I cannot recommend the beautiful villa enough.

    (Review onTrip Advisor)

    Dubai, UAE — 9th October 2016
  • Fabulous Villa in Excellent Location

    We recently had 4 nights in Villa Five – which we would have happily extended if it wasn’t booked out after us. We used 3 suites on the top floor and the owner (who we had never met) and her 3 children happened to be staying on the level below. We loved the layout of the villa as there is lots of space to have to some quiet time with each bedroom having its own private balcony and an amazing view of the ocean – perfect for our evening G&T or to read a book in the morning. The interiors of the villa were really amazing I loved all the concrete in the kitchen and bathrooms. The beds and bedding were hotel quality – made it hard to get up in the mornings. We loved the 4 poster beds and mosquito nets for a real colonial feel. The outdoor shower in one of the suites was a real hit! There was plenty of space to relax by the pool or curl up and read one of the books available while the kids played the board games or in the pool. The food was fantastic and we couldn’t believe how reasonable our bill was at the end of our stay. We really loved the meals in the villa and the pre-dinner snacks and desserts were excellent. The staff were very friendly and made us very very welcome but also very discreet so we felt extremely well looked after but able to have our privacy also. There are loads of places to do a quick Tuk Tuk ride to close by from visiting Rice Paddies, Tea Plantation, Whale Watching, Galle Fort, Surf lessons, Swimming with Turtles and some great beach clubs and restaurants so we didn’t feel we had to eat in the whole time and could explore the area a bit. We had the most relaxing holiday and will definitely be back. Both the kids and we felt we have made great friends from our holiday and we loved our time at Villa Five and I can not recommend this villa highly enough. Thank you, Dan and Kids, for making our stay in Sri Lanka so wonderful we didn’t want to leave!

    (Review on Trip Advisor)

    lyonsgeorge, Hong Kong, China — 17th august 2016
  • Best Location in Sri Lanka

    After having visited Sri Lanka with our three kids on several occasions, we can safely say this is it! Totally setup for separate groups or one big group, there are heaps of private spaces to get lost and relax. The quality of finishes and service here is second to none – it is obvious the place is run by experienced hoteliers with five-star training! The chef is amazing with a well thought out menu! Right down to the air fried fries, proper espresso and amazing seafood feast! Yum! The house is situated on one of the only swimming beaches in Sri Lanka which is on a protected reef with a few lovely bars and restaurants around and within a 5-minute “yuk yuk” ride to Unawatuna beach for the full party scene. We preferred to eat lunch out and laze by the pool most evenings while the kids slept. The rooms are huge with plenty of room for the kids to share on the built in day beds cum beds. Nothing to fault here right down to the airport transfer which takes about an hour and a half. Nothing to fault. Thank you!!

    (Review on Trip Advisor)

    Simone H, Dubai, UAE — 31st July 2016
  • Surf, sun and food

    Having been to Sri Lanka and the area many times and enjoyed it thoroughly, it would be tough to beat my previous experiences. However, Villa Five was nothing short of fantastic, the Villa itself is modern, spacious with all the amenities of a five star resort, with the seclusion and privacy of your own oasis. The pool and relaxing areas are first class and are welcome after a long day surfing. The staff at the Villa, are warm, friendly and professional and only happy to help. The Chef is truly outstanding, with resort quality food served to you all day and all night. You must have the seafood night and the brownies are to die for. I cannot recommend Villa Five enough and will be back many times over the coming years.

    (Trip Advisor review)

    Josh B, Dubai — 17th May 2016
  • Visiting guests staying at Villa Five.

    After visiting Sri Lanka many times over the past 8 years, we would have to say one of the greatest experiences was visiting friends staying at Villa 5. The villa design and rooms were incredible including the swimming pool and copious amounts of space for the children to play. We were fortunate enough to experience the culinary delights of the chef, which was one of the most memorable moments not only for us but for our children…be sure to ask for the chocolate brownies!! We will definitely be staying there next time!

    (Review – Trip Advisor)

    Frangipani2 , Dubai — 13th April 2016
  • Family celebrating a 40th and 75th Birthdays.

    To Everyone at Villa Five

    Thank you for a very memorable stay in Villa Five.

    Loved the location, food, view, can’t fault anything.

    Amazing staff – very helpful and cheerful.

    The view and the sound of the ocean we amazing – would love to come back – SOON!

    Umang Bedi, India — 25th January 2017
  • Aussie living in Dubai – pre family get together

    Dear Dan & Matt and all of the wonderful staff at Villa Five

    Thank you for facilitating the most wonderful holiday stay for my family.

    The staff here are so attentive, accommodating, professional and conscientious.  They made our stay extra special as they went to great lengths to deliver exceptional service.

    Dan and Matt, it was so wonderful to see your vision and goals become a reality.  You have done such an amazing job with the design and interior decorating of this beautiful villa.    The blood sweat, tears, care and attention to detail have really been worth it!

    Thank you again.  We will be back!

    (Pro Tip – Get an in-room massage from Shriyani.  She has magical hands!!)

    Chantal Horton, Dubai, UAE — 22nd December 2016
  • French families living in Colombo

    Leo (2yrs) drew a beautiful picture in our guest book and enjoyed his stay very much!

    Leana (9yrs) loved the rooms and the swimming pool

    Rose (6 yrs) loves the swimming pool and the way to the beach

    The adults …

    Thank your very much for this wonderful stay, we enjoyed it a lot.  The food was great and the house is amazing.  We hope to come back

    The Children and Adults in the group, Colombo — 12 December 2016
  • Back again soon…

    To Everyone at Villa Five,

    Thank you for an amazing stay.  The staff are truly lovely and friendly.

    Love everything from the Rooms to the Food.

    We will be back again soon!

    Chloe William , Australia
  • Pre Christmas catchup with friends

    Dear Villa Five,

    Thank you for a wonderful stay in what can only be described as paradise!

    We all enjoyed such a fabulous stay… between the delicious food and wonderful all round friendly service.  We all had an incredible holiday to remember.

    Thank you so much and … see you again!

    Alicia, Dubai, UAE — 3rd December 2016
  • Nikki, Laksen, Anish (New York), Robert (Los Angeles) Cari (Texas)

    To Everyone at Villa Five

    We have had an AMAZING stay!

    The house and its surroundings are both beautiufl.  We are all leaving feeling relaxed.  We hope to be back in the (very near) future.

    (Pro Tip – Get the Brownie – Delicious)

    Nikki, New York — 28th November 2016
Follow by Email
Twitter
Instagram